MPL news mentions

I am so grateful for my past year & half in Savannah, GA … as I always say I couldn’t have planned this past year any better! To have been guided to such a warm, creative city that fully embraces the creative spirit in their residents. After spending 16 years in the East Village, coming to Savannah (& Tybee Island) was a perfect place to decompress and prepare for the next phase of my life as an artist.

I am also grateful to the most recent mentions I have had in the local press — and look forward to returning to the Lowcountry next fall!

Bunny in the City: Thinc Savannah gets in holiday spirit
December 18, 2011 –

Another interesting character chatting with us is spiritual artist Joanne Morton. This Midwestern New Yorker living in the South tells me that, starting in January, she will be traveling nationwide with her “public art project”.

“I will offer mass manifesting hanging mobiles,” she said.

OK. I have no clue what this is and ask her to explain.

“A hanging mobile is a series of circles with art and words that describe people’s positive intentions for the world — check me out at magicpassionlove.com,” says the exuberant artist. Another something new I learned today!

Photos by Bunny Ware/For the Savannah Morning News
Joanne Morton, Veta Bateham, Brie Pawlak

January 10, 2012
Savannah’s number-one product?
Connect Savannah: Editor’s Note – Jim Morekis

The optimistic, vibrant, DIY spirit of Savannah artists is also exemplified by Joanne Morton, who’s literally taking her show on the road. She invites you to Emmet Park this Monday, MLK Day, from 1–4 p.m. to help create a public art project “Mass Manifesting Mobile.”

Morton, who has been creating art on Tybee Island at Dragonfly Studio, sees the event as a kickoff of her “Magic Passion Love” nationwide public art tour.

Leave a Reply

