Solidarity with Occupy

Last September when the Occupy Wall Street started in Zuccotti Park, I, like many others, was very intrigued and excited about a new uprising in political consciousness in the US. I call it a consciousness because that’s what it started, thoughts about what can/could be done to create change so that we may have a thriving, sustainable and evolving world.

Like so many of the other 99%, I see injustice in the form of intolerance happening across the country (world) to so many different kinds of people. Like so many of the 99%, I believe in the American Dream and I am willing to do the work it takes to achieve my goals. I believe it is still possible which is why I’ve made the choice to travel around the county to meet others who also believe in the American Dream. The American Dream belongs to the entire world – not just people born as a US citizen.

My dream is to be able to live my life using my skills & talents and having my needs met while enjoying my life with the people I love & being able to contribute to my community. Is this the American Dream that everyone shares, maybe not the specifics. Call me an idealist to want to believe that this is a lot of people’s dream. You can also call me a realist because I also believe that there are some people who are afraid of truly experiencing love and fear being vulnerable so they act out in aggressive & demeaning ways to others (i.e. politicians who attack women’s healthcare). The interesting part about being human in this world, we have a choice on how to act, think and feel. For the record, I am Pro-Choice and feel everyone has the right to make their own choices and take responsibility for the consequences of those choices.

For so long, we have allowed a few to gain power over the way we make choices and how we communicate to each other. So many of the 99% have lost the power (& desire) to think for themselves. There are a lot of people on this planet and somehow we have allowed the 1% to make the choices for what is best for the 99%. Some of them have been good choices to create societies that offer roads, schools, police & fire departments, stop signs and hospitals – to have a healthy society we need to take care of ourselves. However, the choices to de-fund public schools, to deny people health care when sick, to tax the money we earn for the “HOURS” we work, to make money off our homes, and not tax (allow tax loopholes) to companies that take our money for goods/services, pollute our earth & underpay their workers really are not the best choices for the people of the world.

It is these choices that have made me make the choice to stand in Solidarity with the other 99% who are OCCUPYING.

I love it when I get “get a job” or “crazy liberal” comments on the posts I’ve made about visiting the Occupy sites or from the ones from people in their cars driving by. It still amazes me that people really have lost the ability to think for themselves! People believe what the “produced by the 1% media” are saying about the people who choose to get involved with the Occupy movement.

However, because of what is happening with the Occupy we are getting people to move their minds! This will take time and in the meantime, it is important to remember that to keep the Movement moving there needs to be different things happening. Not everyone has to move in the same way. Some will protest in traditional street actions, while others will get other 99%’rs and go pick up trash. Some will create the websites, while others will bring food to the people who are standing on the streets with the signs.

Free Thinking PEEPS!! For this movement to really grow and gain strength, everyone needs to use their own unique skills & talents. If everyone does a little, no one has to do everything. This is why I am doing what I can by visiting Occupy sites whenever I’m in a city where they are still Occupying. Just because you don’t see them “sitting” outside anymore, don’t think that the Occupy Movement isn’t happening. After all it is a MOVEMENT – not a sitting!!

When the Occupy sites first began, yes, there was a lot of sitting in the parks, the squares, on the steps and sidewalks however, as most of us agree, we can only sit for so long. After awhile, action needs to happen. The first action that happened after the Occupy Wall Street, people in other cities started setting up their own Occupy sites.

This took one person to create a Facebook/Webpage then picked a time to show up & Occupy their local city hall. It didn’t matter if they were the only one standing there because they were answering a call to be in solidarity with Occupy Wall Street. So they went, one by one and guess what happened!?! They met others who also felt the call to join in solidarity.

I’ve been to five Occupy Sites since January 2012, Occupy Savannah, Occupy Jacksonville, Occupy Tallahassee, Occupy Pensacola, and Occupy Austin. There was one day in Savannah, when I brought the signs to the Occupy site. I got there before anyone else arrived so I began to take out the signs. It felt really GOOD to be the part of the 99% who is willing to stand up for all of us, even if I was the only one. It also feels good to meet others who have the courage to Occupy with other people even when your friends don’t come with you.

Arrived at the Occupy Tallahassee, its as cool as the stories I heard…and I’m sleeping here for a few nights!When you go to an Occupy Site, there are is always someone who will come up and welcome you. This is what I’ve love about traveling, knowing that I can find the Occupiers in the city and know I will make friends. In Tallahasse, I didn’t have a place to stay so I went to the OccupyTally site because I heard that they were still camping out. I figured that I could sleep in the “women’s tent”. I set my GPS to the City Hall and I was guided right up to the OccuCamp. I was welcomed and someone even gave me a tent! I ended up staying there for six days because it felt so good to be around people willing to do the work. Yes there is OccuDrama – we are humans – and we can also work beyond our differences.

One of the questions I would ask people I met, “Did you know each other before you came here?” The answer is usually, “No” and “My friends support the Occupy movement but they don’t come to the site.” In fact, another wonderful outcome of the Occupy Savannah is a group of 20-somethings working together with the Retirees United for the Future (Ruffians); they met each other at the site.

It’s such a learning lesson for us who do take the time to go to an Occupy site not to judge the people we love for not taking the time to visit a site. Because we have to learn to stop judging people with our egos. We also have to forgive others and ourselves for creating the mess we have to fix right now. When I say forgive, it doesn’t mean the people/corporations who are polluting our planet, creating unhealthy work environments and under paying their employees don’t need to take responsibility for their actions – they do!

We all have a responsibility to be better world citizens… civic responsibility, social responsibility, and spiritually responsible. If we all do a little, no one has to do everything! It is our responsibility to use our skills & talents to serve the world so it may be here for future generations!!

My intention with Magic Passion Love & my public art project is to work with groups/people to inspire our youth that there is a future worth working for and to give all people opportunity to share positive energy with one another. The world needs more positive energy – we will never rid our planet of painful/negative energy however with more positive energy available, the pain will not be so devastating. One of my beliefs is that there will never be World Peace until more Inner Peace is achieved – and Peace is possible! It’s being manifested right now by all of the people who are adding their Positive Peaceful Intentions on the Mass Manifesting Mobile!

I have a question to ask anyone who wants to criticize the Occupy Movement:

What’s so crazy about wanting to stand up for other people’s right including my own to feel good making a living doing what you enjoy with people you like being around?

What’s so crazy about being respectful & tolerant to other people in all circumstances? What’s so crazy about thinking for yourself and speaking up?

Nothing crazy about this at all.

What’s crazy is allowing yourself to be afraid to get involved with your community and helping the world become more sustainable and abundant for all.

Here’s a video to inspire all of us to OCCUPY!!

Leave a Reply

